Skip to content

the official baked good of the pity party?

September 25, 2010

On Twitter, fayethorn suggested a possible official baked good of BHF10PP. Clearly, this is a brilliant idea. A complete oversight on my part. We need baked goods to remind us who we are, that we are human and not just a stinking heap of  unwashed sadness.

And so begins a new contest with no prize (listen, California Walnuts can’t sponsor all of the fun here)…

The OFFICIAL BLOGHERFOOD 10 PITY PARTY BAKED GOOD OF SAD contest (remember, all caps stand in for the pain our souls are shouting).

So what baked good is befitting a Pity Party?

What is sad and comforting?

What tells you you’re OK in this horrible moment and fills you with regret as you eat the leftovers standing over the kitchen sink the next morning?

Share your entries below. You have until Tuesday to enter. Voting begins on Wednesday.

Let the carbs begin.

From → wallowing

36 Comments
  1. I don’t know why cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting came to mind but they did. I could eat a whole pan on my own, LOL. Hot, gooey, right out of the oven with a big glass of milk. Mmm. Thanks. Now I want cinnamon rolls.

  2. I’ll start us off with a picture representing this event. This was my daughters’ wedding cake, in my brand new MINI, being transported from the reception in my car. I foolishly thought I could make a quick U turn to get gas. It was 11:30 at night, then man at the gas station couldn’t believe his eyes! Neither could the family when they saw the cake that was supposed to be used the next day at an open house for the newlyweds.

    All I can say is you win some, you lose some. My very own cake wreck:

  3. Great the pic didn’t work. (not sure I’m liking the new flickr) one more try.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/foodchronicles/502426

  4. Obviously, this is not baked, BUT…..Ben & Jerry’s, out of the carton, standing in the kitchen (reading #BHF twitter stream on the laptop). Specifically, Coffee Heath Bar. Nothing says regret more than an empty ice cream carton and only one spoon.

    • I agree w/ Bridget…except I go heavy duty with the Chubby Hubby. What’s more pitfiful than a grown woman eating a whole pint of caramel ice cream, studded w/pretzels, and ribboned with streams of caramel an chocolate?

    • I haven’t allowed Ben or Jerry into my house for about a year. But for this event, they’re both invited. With their Chubby Hubby, too. Coffee Heath Bar Crunch is my favorite. I especially embrace the caffiene, which will keep me up long into the night for the BHPP!

  5. I just recently made these cookies and while not for the Pity Party in particular (say that three times fast), I am now wondering if the inspiration wasn’t somehow in my subconscious. I mean, a cookie and a potato chip combined together? As if the energy of reaching for both cookies and chips might be too much for our poor selves to handle, I present you a cookie with both snacks combined. It does allow for a certain ease in downing two, two…two snacks in one!

    http://vinolucistyle.com/2010/09/potato-chip-cookies-2/

  6. I think the oozing center of these chocolate lava cakes captures the outpouring of my tears.
    Warm, oozing chocolate- what could bring more solace than that?

    If you top it off with a raspberry coulis, you might be able to think it is even slightly healthy.

    http://www.gfdoctorrecipes.com/2010/09/gluten-free-chocolate-lava-cakes-recipe.html

  7. Oh my goodness @VinoLuci! I think you’ve found Nirvana with those cookies!

  8. I think Paula Deen should come up with the recipe. As long as it has about five sticks of butter, we all should be fine.

    Gorilla Bread

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/gorilla-bread-recipe/index.html

  9. Tastes Better With Friends permalink

    Something else to wallow in our own pity would be a Non-date date square. One more reminder that not only are we missing out on BlogHer, but I don’t have a date either!

  10. 1. Crumble up as many Oreo cookies in a glass
    2. Poor milk over it, wait 10 seconds
    3. Mash slightly.
    4. Eat with a spoon.

    I call it Oreo Smash. And it always makes me feel pitiful.

  11. I have it, I have it!! I made these cookies for a friend’s Relentless Negativity Film Festival. This link will take you to my old blog, Valley Victuals:

    http://valleyvictuals.wordpress.com/2009/02/15/all-occasion-cookies/#more-1209

  12. I’m going to have to vote for Nutella on Saltines.
    I mean, I’d say Nutella on a spoon, but that’s not a baked good. Frankly, neither is Nutella on Saltines, but hell, you can make the chocolate-covered-saltines thing if you need to bake.

    I’m new to the party, but I’m darn good at being pitiful!

  13. I’d say a chocolate-glazed donut. If I’m eating one (or two) of those? I must be feeling pretty darned pitiful!

  14. Jennifer A (Bread and Putter) permalink

    Okay, I am going to try to embed some closeups of the sad cookies in a comment…

    From Sad Cookies

  15. As I will be attending the PP with my dog, I would think the best treat for both of us would be his home-made biscuits. Just have to dip them in the pre-requisite chocolate for me and I won’t even remember it’s supposed to be a doggie treat. Maximus (my dog) will of course have his undipped. Together we make a pretty pathetic pair and hey…it’s better than cat food!

    Doggy Oatmeal Cookies

    1 cup uncooked oatmeal
    ¾ cup cornmeal
    3 cup whole wheat flour
    ¾ cup powdered milk
    ½ cup margarine
    1 tsp. beef or chicken bouillon granules
    1 ½ cup meat broth or hot water
    1 egg beaten

    Preheat oven to 325F. Dissolve bouillon in meat broth, while still hot, put some of the broth into a blender with the garlic and blend on high. Pour all broth into large bowl, add margarine & oatmeal & stir. Let sit 5 minutes to cool. Stir in powdered milk, cornmeal & egg. Add flour, ½ cup at a time, mixing well after each addition. Knead by hand, adding more flour if needed. Roll on floured surface to ½” thick, cut into shapes. Also, when cutting use different cutter shapes other than the bone-shaped one you will use for your dog’s portion of the treats. Place on greased cookie sheet. Bake 50-60 minutes, allow to cool & dry out until hard.

    For Pity Party Dog Owners: When biscuits have cooled divide quantity in half. Half for you, half for your beloved pet. Dip half of the cooled biscuits in melted chocolate and place on waxed paper to harden. Easier to forget when you start to nibble that you are actually eating a Doggie Treat. That and good few stiff drinks will help them go down easier.

  16. Chocolate and peanut butter is my favorite combination – but since we’re torn asunder from our desired destination, perhaps we should have chocolate cookies and peanut butter cookies. And then (here’s the important part) we should all deny ourselves the luxury of eating them together. It’s symbolic I tell ya. Totally symbolic.

  17. OK, I just saw this on Nigella Express this weekend but it feels so approps because it’s SORBET AND SPARKLING WINE. Nigella calls them the Fruit Fizz, and this is how you make it:

    Basically, she tells you to fill a small glass 2/3 the way full with your favorite fruit sorbet, then fill the rest with prosecco or cava. Enjoy. And this is from the woman who sneaks extra bites of her meals in her jammies at the end of every episode.

  18. I made this over the weekend:

    http://www.chownchat.com/2010/09/i-love-dessert-i-always-have-room-for.html

    and proceeded to eat about the whole thing the next morning while standing at the refrigerator with the door open. Let me just say sponge cake, fresh whipped cream and jelly… it doesn’t get much better!

  19. What about a layer dish of doom?

    layer as follows from bottom to top, this should be in a large glass bowl:
    1) chopped fruit (I suggest strawberries) or a bunch of smashed up Oreo cookies, or both
    2) melted chocolate or, if you’re very lazy (and I know I will be), just pour a bunch of ice cream topper chocolate fudge all over the bottom layer
    3) Cover with a mixture of marshmallow fluff and cool-whip, marshmallow fluff can be substituted with Kahlua
    4) crumble a bunch of Palmiers on top
    5) more chocolate sauce if you’re sad enough to deserve it

    Using chocolate biscotti as a spoon, sit in the dark, unwashed and unloved as we all will be, and eat the entire dish. Full of self-pity and self-loathing. Lick the dish out when you’re done for good measure. Regret this all immensely tomorrow.

  20. Okay finally got my post up for my entry. See my Guittard Sierra Nuggets here:

    http://www.earthboundchronicles.com/2010/09/28/sierra-nuggets-guittard-cookies/

    The only problem is that I baked them today and they’ll be all gone by the time the party rolls around. Now I’m sad.

  21. I just made some apple dumplings (cored out apples, filled with butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon) then wrapped in pie dough, baked for 45 minutes and served with ice cream.

    It feels healthy because of the apple, but it’s really not.

  22. healthydealsnsteals permalink

    Such a toss up!!

    Go with something fall like?? Than pumpkin chocolate chip bread it is! http://burntapple.wordpress.com/2010/09/29/kneaders-pumpkin-chocolate-chip-bread/

    Or do I just go with something so good and carb filled I can eat a half dozen in one sitting? Than it would have to be these! http://burntapple.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/golden-oreo-cupcakes/

    Thanks to whoever organized this!
    Traci
    BurntApple.com

  23. These brownies are definitely my pick-me-ups. They work EVERY time :)))

    http://www.forkspoonnknife.com/2010/04/because-it-makes-me-happy.html

  24. Decadent Brownies for sure – These in particular if you please http://thedairy-freediva.blogspot.com/2010/10/dairy-gluten-free-brownies.html

  25. Brownies are the only thing that qualify. Unless you also have salted caramel ice cream to serve with them.
    http://backseatgourmet.blogspot.com/2008/11/emotional-eater.html

  26. Ellen Fitz permalink

    I don’t think there could be anything more pitiful than the dessert version of the “Turducken”, known as the “Cherpumple”. Have a look-see…

    Charles Phoenix’s demonstrates step-by-step instructions to preparing his latest cooking creation — the dessert version of the Turducken: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rp4yWTLIPaE

  27. abby dodge permalink

    don’t know about y’all.. but I’m gonna cook up a big fat vat of rice pudding, grab a spoon and eat it all straight from the pot all while cryin my eyes as I read the PP stream.. and NO am not gonna share ~ that would be nice.. and at this party I am not nice, I’m pathetic..

  28. When I was a little girl, my mother would make the most sinful pot-de-creme (chocolate) to cheer me up. Now that I’m older, I’ll make it again, and eat the entire recipe myself. That’s my kinda pity party.

  29. The perfect baked good: Doughnut Muffins (http://www.howto-simplify.com/2010/08/muffin-donuts.html)

    I plan on stuffing my face with doughnut muffin after doughnut muffin and be extra pitiful.

  30. Oooh, I second the Doughnut Muffins. There’s no shame in the addiction during the pity party.

Leave a Reply

